Your NameOriol Lopez
Cohort AssignmentEurope Summer-Fall 2023, Cohort 1
1. What do you see as your primary work at this stage of your life?

I feel motivated when designing and implementing projects related with rural development. Formally, I would describe myself as a consultant for rural development mainly in the fields of migrants integration. I feel I want to actively contribute to the creation of systemic alternatives to the existing socio-environmental-economic capitalist system, together with my personal and work-related network. I feel I share regenerative development philosophy but I do still need deeper understanding of what it means in its essence. I currently work in organisations that promote processes to regenerate life in the fields of migrants integration and neurologic diseases, located in the rural Catalonia (north-east Spain).

2. What role do you see as yours to play?

I see myself as a process facilitator, as an enabler. My background provides me with a mix of capabilities from business administration and open innovation, to environmental management, research, or meaningful occupation.
I feel I am happy when I design projects, I look for funding and then I can able to implement them. I feel happy when I can collaborate with other organisations so our project can have big impact. I feel happy when I am able to implement in these projects, partners, and impact a vision of life regeneration.

3. What goals or aims do you have in regard to the above?

I feel I am achieving a social and labour position in which I am providing high value and high impact. I am starting to play an important role in designing public policies and I want to be technically flawless. I feel regenerative development is the framework and I want to be sure that I understand it. I have been working and living in other frameworks such as Social Economy but I feel it puts too much energy on legal aspects of structures. I feel regenerative development combines social and environmental aspects in life but does not leave economic development behind.

4. Where do you feel your next arenas for personal growth are?

I have two beautiful kids (2yo and 4yo) and I live in a community in a rural municipality. I want to teach my kids and share with my family the way to understand the world. Since I work in rural development and I currently live in a rural municipality, my personal growth is very linked to my professional growth. I do act as a facilitator in processes that are happening at home. I want that the community in which I live implements regenerative development principles, and I want to facilitate this shift.

5. And for professional growth?

As a professional growth I want to reach higher potential without leaving my family behind. I want to have more impact on public policies and I want to improve the potential of the organisations I work at.

6. What have you invested in to get you where you are?

After being grown in a family of teachers, I studied environmental science in Barcelona and then a MSc in Oceanography. During these summers I worked as an environmental monitor with kids. Afterwards I got a scholarship in the US for the NOAA and then I started working in the Oil and Gas Industry in charge of biodiversity and ecosystem services management. I worked there for 5 years. Then I quitted and I founded CHAPTER#2, a social economy SME trying to promote migrants integration in rural Catalonia (north-east Spain). At CHAPTER#2 we organise entrepreneurship programmes, we design hackathons, and we provide consultancy on migrants integration, social economy, and meaningful occupation. CHAPTER#2 is a train that takes me to different stations such as public administration (I worked for two years at the National Government implementing a mentorship programme for refugees), research and Universities (I worked for three years with EU projects), and rural municipalities (I currently work in the Catalan rural municipalities association). This journey is taking me to different fields: environmental management, then business, then migrants integration, then rural development... I feel I have invested in this journey to get me where I am.

7. What fields of learning and which thinkers have been important in your life?

My friends and family are important in my life. My wife has taught me a lot on Meaningful occupation (Law et al.), a lawyer friend of mine did share the Recognition theory by Axel Honneth, a business man friend of mine did taught me about open innovation and all Design thinking and Lean Startup methodologies, a partner of mine has a beautiful webpage on Resilience thinking...

8. Can you frame your philosophy or cosmology of life? What role(s) do humans play in it?

Planet earth is more resilient than humans, it will continue living when we will disappear. I feel that we as humans have the potential of innovation, we are running out of time but we are still able to create alternative systems that will allow as to survive. Humanity is polarising between capitalism-degeneration and life-regeneration, even in small communities. I want to provide my knowledge, expertise and hands to regenerate life, and I want to teach my kids to live this way.

Date CreatedAugust 29, 2023